New logo for American Athletic Conference

At around 9 a.m. ET this morning the  American Athletic Conference announced the creation of their new logo. It will be the one that both the University of South Florida and their conference  mates at the University of Central Florida will have pasted everywhere starting July 1 st this year. You can look at the logo in detail at the website

It is part of the many steps being taken to make the change from the Big East to  American Athletic Conference.

The new logo features a simple, athletic letter A in red, white and blue, which each institution can customize with its own colors.  The marks were created by former CBS Sports public relations executive LeslieAnne Wade and MadCreek Advertising.

In a statement released by the conference:

“As with the creation of our name, we worked directly with our institutions, sports marketing experts, media partners and design agencies to create and evaluate a variety of logo options,” said Commissioner Mike Aresco. “We took our preferred marks to each institution within our conference for an open forum with school presidents, athletic directors and student athletes to get their input. The elegant, athletic and classic letter A with the unique star inside and AMERICAN underneath was unanimously chosen by every institution. We believe this bold mark and our series of ancillary marks will support our conference name and the values that our name represents. In addition, our partners at ESPN and CBS agree that its strength, simplicity and elegance will resonate well on TV,” concluded Aresco.


As we all know by now beginning with the 2014-15 academic year, The American will consist of the University of Central Florida, the University of Cincinnati, the University of Connecticut, East Carolina University, the University of Houston, the University of Memphis, Southern Methodist University, the University of South Florida, Temple University, Tulane University and the University of Tulsa. The U.S. Naval Academy will become a football-only member in 2015.