USF Quinton Flowers To Be Honored At 62nd Annual Touchdown Club Of Columbus Awards

Flowers To Be Showered With Another National Award

The season may be over, but USF quarterback Quinton Flowers isn’t quite done bringing in national attention. On Feb. 4 the talented senior out of Miami will be among numerous national college football standouts to be honored at the 62nd Annual Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards in Columbus, Ohio.

The banquet honors standout high school and collegiate players and coaches from the 2016 football season, as well as players projected to be national standouts in the 2017 season.

This could be just the type of attention Flowers’ needs to start making a run for a Heisman campaign next year. He was among several players who received the Touchdown Club’s 2017 Player to Watch Award.

Photo: USF Oracle

Flowers finished his junior year ranked third in ESPN’s Total QBR ratings (86.5) behind USC’s Sam Darnold and Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield. Mayfield will also be present at the banquet to receive the 2016 Kellen Moore Award for being the nation’s top quarterback.

Other confirmed 2017 Player to Watch honorees attending the banquet are: Riley Ferguson (QB, Memphis), Nick Fitzgerald (QB, Mississippi State), Deondre Francois (QB, Florida State), Khalil Hodge (LB, Buffalo), Micah Kiser (LB, Virginia), Ray Lawry (RB, Old Dominion), Anthony Miller (WR, Memphis), Mason Rudolph (QB, Oklahoma State), Mike Webber (RB, Ohio State), Mike White (QB, Western Kentucky), Cedrick Wilson (WR, Boise State) and Logan Woodside (QB, Toledo).

Some of the awards that will be presented at the banquet include: Chris Harley Award for the college football player of the year (Deshaun Watson, Clemson), Archie Griffin Award for college football most valuable player (Sam Darnold, USC), Woody Hayes Award for college football coach of the year (James Franklin, Penn State), Jim Brown Award for top running back (Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State), Ozzie Newsome Award for top tight end (Evan Engram, Ole Miss), Paul Warfield Award for top wide receiver (Corey Davis, Western Michigan), Bill Willis Award for top defensive lineman (Ed Oliver, Houston), Jack Lambert Award for top linebacker (Ben Boulware, Clemson), Jack Tatum Award for top defensive back (Tarvarus McFadden, Florida State), Freshman of the Year (Jalen Hurts, Alabama).

Photo: USF Athletics

The American Conference Offensive Player of the Year set numerous USF records during his junior year and Flowers received many national awards as well for his spectacular performance on the field. Flowers set USF records for total yards (4,437), rushing yards (1,530), rushing TD (18), passing TD (24) and total TD. He led the Gulf Coast Offense to break a handful of USF records and ranked fourth in the nation in scoring (43.8) and 11th in total offense (511.5). The Bulls had a record season 11 wins and a final Top 25 national ranking.

Allison Leslie is a University of South Florida graduate with a bachelors degree in Mass Communications. She joined Genesis in 2016. With a passion for sports, Allison has interned with 620 WDAE, Pewter Report, Trifecta Team: St. Petersburg Bowl, Bullscast, and many other publications. Being a native to the Bay Area, she has followed and supported Tampa Bay teams her whole life.