Zobrist Failed Transfer Inspires Rule Change

Joe Maddon

Earlier this month when the Rays were in Kansas City, second baseman Ben Zobrist was attempting to catch a ball that was flipped to him by shortstop Yunel Escobar. He caught it, but it slipped out on the transfer as he was multitasking both catching and tagging base, and thus the runner, Royals infielder Alcides Escobar, was safe at second base. If he caught it, you would have probably seen a double play. Reason being, he was trying to take the ball out of his glove to throw to first base.

Manager Joe Maddon came out to argue the call. The umpires reviewed the play, and the runner was called safe at second base. Here’s the video:

This irked the living daylights out of both Zobrist and Maddon, so much so that Maddon wanted a rule change. It actually sparked debate and talk around the league and on sports talk radio, tv etc.

As luck would have it, MLB Public Relations tweeted today that starting with Friday night’s games, this rule regarding transfer will be in place:

Click to enlarge