IndyCar 2014 opens with the St. Pete GP

Newly crowned IndyCar champion Scott Dixon will be in St.Pete to kickoff the 2014 season.
Newly crowned IndyCar champion Scott Dixon will be in St.Pete to kickoff the 2014 season.

The 2014 IndyCar series will feature a season that will begin in March at St. Petersburg and end Labor Day weekend in Southern California at Fontana. There will once again be an 18-race season but there will be less of a delay between races and gone will be the Grand Prix of Baltimore and the surprise dropping of the race in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

Grand Prix of St. Petersburg organizers had hoped to land one of the doubleheader weekends but at this point they may get their wish come 2015. However is the bigger point is that the race needs a title sponsor to replace Honda who chose not to renew their contract. The race is the traditional kickoff the season race for IndyCar and expectations are they will land a new sponsor in plenty of time for the March race.

Back to the reast of the 2014 schedule IndyCar will keep three doubleheader street races – in Detroit, Houston and Toronto – and they turned down a number of other cities along with St. Peterburg that wanted to host doubleheaders.

In 2014, some races will be changing dates with the Grand Prix of Houston moving from early October to June 28-29 next year. The Milwaukee Mile moves from June to August and will serve as the first of three races in consecutive weekends to decide the championship.

2014 IndyCar schedule:

March 30: Streets of St. Petersburg (Fla.)

April 13: Streets of Long Beach (Calif.)

April 26: Barber Motorsports Park (Birmingham, Ala.)

May 10: Grand Prix of Indianapolis

May 25: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

May 31: Raceway at Belle Isle Park (Detroit)

June 1: Raceway at Belle Isle Park (Detroit)

June 7: Texas Motor Speedway

June 28: Reliant Park (Houston)

June 29: Reliant Park (Houston)

July 6: Pocono International Raceway

July 12: Iowa Speedway

July 19: Streets of Toronto

July 20: Streets of Toronto

Aug. 3: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

Aug. 17: The Milwaukee Mile

Aug. 24: Sonoma Raceway (Calif.)

Aug. 30: Auto Club Speedway (Fontana, Calif.)