IndyCar: Conway edges Power for the win

Mike Conway, of England, celebrates his win in the IndyCar Grand Prix of Long Beach auto race,
Mike Conway, of England, celebrates his win in the IndyCar Grand Prix of Long Beach auto race,

Mike Conway piloted his No. 20 Chevrolet to a thrilling win Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach. The race had fans on  standing at end making sure that Conway could indeed take the checkered flag.

For Conway, it is his first win of the 2014 IndyCar season and third of his IndyCar career. It was Conway’s first win since the a victory at Belle Isle in 2013. It was also Conway’s second win at Long Beach.

Finishing second was Will Power and his No. 12 Penske Chevrolet to claim his 34th IndyCar podium, and 40th major open-wheel podium.

In third, Carlos Munoz and his No. 34 Honda would grab his second career IndyCar podium.

Juan Pablo Montoya would pick up his best IndyCar finish – fourth – since his return with Simon Pagenaud rounding out the top five finishers.

With 24 laps to go, Sarah Fisher Racing driver Josef Newgarden got a great pitstop from the team to put him out in the lead exiting pitlane on cold tires. Andretti Autosport driver Ryan Hunter-Reay had led and dominated most of the race, made a highly questionable move when he attempted to get to the inside, but instead clipped the rear of Newgarden which put both cars into the concrete wall. With it being a blind corner, three other cars – Tony Kanaan, James Hinchcliffe, Takuma Sato – had their race ended after the eight-car crash that led to the caution. Jack Hawksworth, and Helio Castroneves were also affected by the accident and would lose positions.

Results Sunday of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach Verizon IndyCar Series event on the 1.968-mile Streets of Long Beach circuit, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (17) Mike Conway, Dallara-Chevy, 80, Running

2. (14) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 80, Running

3. (11) Carlos Munoz, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

4. (16) Juan Pablo Montoya, Dallara-Chevy, 80, Running

5. (6) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

6. (20) Mikhail Aleshin, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

7. (12) Oriol Servia, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

8. (8) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

9. (22) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 80, Running

10. (21) Carlos Huertas, Dallara-Honda, 80, Running

11. (9) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 80, Running

12. (7) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Chevy, 80, Running

13. (23) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 79, Running

14. (3) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 77, Running

15. (5) Jack Hawksworth, Dallara-Honda, 77, Running

16. (10) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 64, Contact

17. (18) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 60, Running

18. (13) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 55, Contact

19. (4) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 55, Contact

20. (1) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 55, Contact

21. (2) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Honda, 55, Contact

22. (15) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 55, Contact

23. (19) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Chevy, 41, Off Course



Race Statistics

Winners average speed: 82.362

Time of Race: 01:54:41.6418

Margin of victory: 0.9005 of a second

Cautions: 4 for 18 laps

Lead changes: 6 among 5 drivers


Lap Leaders: Hunter-Reay 1-26, Dixon 27-28, Hunter-Reay 29-53, Newgarden 54, Saavedra 55-57, Dixon 58-77, Conway 78-80.


Point Standings: Power 93,  Conway 66, Pagenaud 60, Castroneves 55, Hunter-Reay 53, Dixon 51, Munoz 48, Montoya 47, Aleshin 46, Saavedra 42.