Women’s World Cup Bids Are Due

Women's World cup - AP/Story

America and Mexico Have A Joint Bid.

The bids are due from the committees that are hoping to land the 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup. Three different committees want the event, a joint United States-Mexico bid, a three-way bid from Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany and a solo bid from Brazil. What is interesting about Brazil these days is they want to get back on the public stage after two finacial disastrous events, the 2014 FIFA Men’s World Cup and the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Summer Olympics. The National Football League is targeting Brazil as a potential venue for a 2024 regular season contest. South Africa has decided not to bid for the 2027 women’s event. The South African Football Association leadership felt that now is not the time to host the FIFA women’s tournament and did not want to put together a last second presentation that was rushed.

America hosted World Cups in 1999 and 2003. The 2003 tournament was supposed to take place in China, but a severe acute respiratory syndrome outbreak in 2002 forced FIFA to change its plans and move the tournament out of China and the United States was able to host the event. FIFA has never held a women’s tournament in Brazil and if Brazil has the right financial package, FIFA will be more than willing to listen. Germany hosted a World Cup in 2011. The U.S., Mexico and Canada are co-hosts of the men’s World Cup in 2026. The U.S. hosted in 1994, and Mexico hosted in 1970 and 1986 World Cup. So FIFA is quite familiar with both the United States and Mexico. FIFA will get the bids and the next step will be on-site inspection visits in February 2024. FIFA plans to evaluate the bids, which means how much money is available and make a decision on the host countries in May 2024.

Evan Weiner’s books are available at iTunes – https://books.apple.com/us/author/evan-weiner/id595575191

Evan can be reached at evan_weiner@hotmail.com

The Women’s World Cup comes to New zealand. AP/PHOTO